Should I Pursue My Writing?

you die without knowing
whether anything you wrote was any good
if you have to be sure don’t write

From W.S. Merwin’s poem “Berryman”

Don’t listen to doubt.  It leads no place but to pain and negativity…Instead, have a tenderness and determination toward your writing, a sense of humor, and deep patience that you are doing the right thing…See beyond doubt to the vastness of life and the belief in time and practice.

Natalie Goldberg

I am starting to take more risks with my writing by publishing to the general public.  I am getting older and do not want to die with regrets!  The above inspirational quotes are from The Loft Literary Center summer classes publication, in Minneapolis, MN.  I have taken a few writing classes there.  It is a wonderful place!  https://www.loft.org/

I have been admitted into the University of Hawaii undergraduate program in English and creative writing starting this Fall, but need to raise some money or find a loan in order to pay the housing deposit and for travel expenses!  This will happen fast!  I decided to take a risk and apply to a structured writing program this past winter.  Then my mother came back into my life and suddenly died.  More about that in my next post.

 

About Jane M Anderson

I am a forty-something single woman from Minnesota, the Twin Cities area. I have lived with rheumatoid arthritis since age four. I am learning to be comfortable in my own skin and to love myself. I am starting this blog to share my stories about how I got here and where I am going. My journal writing started at about age 15. One of my goals is to publish a book (or several) about my unique life. Another life long goal is to teach others through telling my story. I obtained a Bachelor's degree in Social Work and have completed some graduate school classes in Public Policy. I enjoy public speaking, which I started in 1994 for The League of Women Voters MN, and then I continued speaking for other organizations. I also love dancing to 70's and 80's music!
This entry was posted in Memoir and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

